Parents

Welcome to the McMaster community. We view parents as our partners in educating students. We value this relationship and want to ensure that it remains strong. This section of the Student Affairs site is designed with parents in mind. We hope that you will visit often for information and resources that will help your young adult make their time at McMaster a success, and to stay connected to what is going on in your student’s life.


Important Academic Dates

2018 Fall Term (62 days)

Item Date(s)
Enrolment (registration) begins To be announced
Classes begin Tuesday, September 4
Last day for enrollment (registration) and changes Wednesday, September 12
Mid-term recess Monday, October 8 to
Sunday, October 14
Last day for cancelling courses without failure by default Friday, November 9
Test and Examination Ban (no tests or exams may be held during this period) Thursday, November 29 to Thursday, December 6
Classes end Wednesday, December 5
Final Examinations Friday, December 7 to Thursday, December 20 (12 days)
Deferred examinations Tuesday, February 19 to Friday, February 22

2019 Winter Term (62 days)

Item Date(s)
Classes begin Monday, January 7
Last day for enrollment (registration) and changes Tuesday, January 15
Mid-term recess Monday, February 18 to Sunday, February 24
Last day for cancelling courses without failure by default Friday, March 15
Test and Examination Ban (no tests or exams may be held during this period) Wednesday April 3 to Wednesday, April 10
Classes End
Tuesday, April 9
Good Friday: No classes or examinations
Friday, April 19
Final Examinations Thursday, April 11 to Monday, April 29
Deferred examinations Monday, June 24 to Thursday, June 27

More Important Dates »


Inclement Weather

McMaster’s inclement weather policy (Daily News)
McMaster Storm Closure Policy (PDF)