The President’s Award of Excellence (Student Leadership)

McMaster University invites nominations for The President’s Award of Excellence (Student Leadership) 2017.

The Award

The President’s Award of Excellence was established in 1993 to recognize students who have demonstrated a commitment to the University’s belief in excellence in its student body.

The Selection Committee will determine the number of awards to be presented each year after considering the nominations in light of the criteria listed below. Each award will be a President’s Student Medal of Excellence and the recipient will have his/her name inscribed on a commemorative plaque displayed permanently in the University Centre.

Award Candidates

Picture of Students working
Nominations are open to full-time undergraduate students who are in their graduating year.

This award acknowledges the contributions made by students who play a significant role in improving and developing the intellectual, social, cultural and/or athletic fabric of the McMaster community. The Selection Committee will consider nominees who have demonstrated outstanding student leadership qualities and whose achievements have benefitted other students and contributed to the betterment of the University community. The involvement of such individuals in local, national or provincial communities will also be considered. In determining the recipients of this award the Selection Committee will focus on the overall quality and impact of the contributions made by nominees rather than the achievement of a particular position or status.

Selection Committee

Five members of the McMaster Community comprise the Selection Committee and choose the Award recipient(s).

Members are:

  • The President of McMaster University (Chair)
  • The Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
  • The Associate Vice-President (Students & learning)
  • A distinguished alumna/alumnus
  • A person familiar with the McMaster University environment appointed by the President

Method of Nomination/Selection

  • The Selection Committee will solicit nominations of individuals.
  • Nominees will be notified by the Selection Committee.
  • The Nomination Form will include a Curriculum Vitae and three letters of reference.
  • The Selection Committee will solicit letters of recommendation from others as they determine.
  • The Selection Committee will consider all information available to them and select the recipient(s).
  • The Award will be presented at Convocation

Nominate Someone

To nominate someone download the Nomination Form (MS Word), complete and
return to Student Affairs, Gilmour Hall, Room 207 or email

Deadline for return of Nomination Forms is March 24, 2017.

The President’s Award of Excellence in Student Leadership Winners


Adam Chiavarelle

Akeel Ali

Elaine Stirling

Ryan Rogers

Saly Halawa

Sonia Jakji


Audrey Tan

Jacob Brodka

Julia Woo

Nishan Zewge-Abubaker


Janelle Hinds

Sara Medhat Halawa

Benjamin Kinsella

Ambika Tejpal

Tristan Paul

Christa Jonathan


Arnav Agarwal

Benjamin Dplock

Carrie McMullin

Claire Stewart

Mikaila Nederveen


Anna D’Angela

Cristina Leonardelli

Jeffrey Wyngaarden

Lauren Salcile

Laurence Rivard

Lisa Bifano

Matt Dillon-Leitch


Tyler Wright

Andrew Kasza

Joseph Finkle

Tanya Kuzman

Huzaifa Saeed

Natasha Turner

Samuel Bong Si Cheng


Erica Barnes

Mary Koziol

Brennan Reurink

Joshua Smalley

Vishal Tiwari


Ian Finlay

Kasia Kucemba

Suparna Sharma


Daniel Borrelli

Chad Fullerton

Marek Gruca

Chryslyn Pais

Tiffany Parsons

Debjani Poddar


Hasnat Ahsan

Vasiliki (Vass) Bednar

Jonathan Borrelli

Nicole Findlay

Eric Siu

Stephanie Tom


Randy Ai

Diana Choi

Steven Hoffman

Melissa Kimber

Ava Baker

Tanya Rumble

Tania Ahluwalia


Heidi Carrubba

Faizal Haji

Christine Kerr


Jaimini Chauhan

Elaine Cheng

Dionne Matthew

Avita Sooknanan

Mark Yep


Gregory Athaide

Dan Freeman

Candy Hui

Sean Park

Sarah Roger


Andrea Dumbrell

Jennifer King

Sam Minniti

Daniel Olsen

Nicole Richmond


Mary-Melinda Gillies

Arif Manji

Leila Salehi


Karinne Chan

Alex Mazer

David Sandomierski

Wai-Yin Shum

Meaghan Stovel


Sachin Aggarwal

Arun Gupta

Eric Tam


Jason Lee

Lisa Sillib

Carolyn You


Roy W. Cramp

Jennifer McMillen

Marie-Helene Ruel


Leslie Buckley

Jeff Colgan

Janet Loebach


Diane Bird


Allison Tumon


Hugh Pasika